So it begins…

Black Ice – Honeymoon

Prologue

superkuu loitsuOne night in September, as the big fat super moon was struggling to rise above the tree tops, like a yellow ball of honey, I was still doing research for my next column with my laptop and desperately looking for some inspiration online.

“Honeymoon” and the small glass of Sambuca probably made me a bit sentimental and exactly at the same moment I found myself on a site that was offering me a true love spell, to find a soul mate or a life companion.

Ha! I snorted, but then I thought, what the hell: it will never work, so I have nothing to lose. The candle was already lit on the kitchen table. I could just as well gather the rest of the spell ingredients and play. Just for the heck of it. I got nothing to lose, did I?

I found a beautiful glass bowl, filled it with teaspoon of cinnamon, sugar and lavender. Because I did not have rose pedals, I added some rose oil. I lit the incense stick and cleared the room with its smoke.

Mörö, my black cat, was watching me very keenly, but the smoke made him sneeze.

I said solemnly to myself:

“Aphrodite, the Goddess of Love
Let the cups of joy, friendship
And love runneth over as
The destiny gently merges
Two roads together as one.”

I was beginning to feel a little inspired at this point and pimped the spell by rising my glass ceremonially to Aphrodite and emptied my Sambuca drink with one swift move, before I continued to the second part:

“As the western winds of fate
Whisper the desires of my heart,
As the fairies’ magic wands
Spread their fairy dust.”

I took a look at Mörö.
I could have sworn the damn cat winked his eye at me.
Cheeky cat!

“So I send my humble pleas,
To the eternal Universe.
As I remain in faith and wait.
And so it is…”

After the intention has been created, you were supposed to forget all about it, so that the mighty universe had room to work with its energy. Love works in mysterious ways, they said, when you give it free hands, and you are not restricting it with your expectations in any way. So I did forget the whole thing. The moment when I closed the computer it was gone from my head and I blew the candle out and got upstairs to sleep.

Just to be on the safe side, I snorted once more when I walked upstairs.